About us

USP International Symposium
of Undergraduate Research

The University of São Paulo's International Symposium of Undergraduate Research (SIICUSP) is an annual event in which undergraduate students communicate the results of their research projects, developed at USP or other universities. It also aims at helping students improve their academic research skills and at fostering the interaction of researchers from different areas and levels in order to promote collaboration and multidisciplinary research. Since 2014, SIICUSP is held in two stages. In the first stage, each School, or group of Schools, hosts

 their own events, with participants of their subject areas. The students make presentations to an examining committee. The best evaluated students of each School are invited to a second event, in which they have the opportunity to present their projects again, this time in a multidisciplinary context. This second event (“International Stage”) takes place in our São Paulo campus, with a program open to all interested students, teaching staff, researchers and general public. Students from universities abroad also present their projects, selected by committees from their institutions.

In 2017, we celebrate SIICUSP 25th edition!


subscribed works


years of SIICUSP


Meet the team that makes SIICUSP happen

Sylvio Roberto Accioly Canuto

Research Provost of the University of São Paulo

Sylvio Canuto is a Professor of Physics at the Institute of Physics, University of São Paulo. He is a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences, The World Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Sciences of the State of São Paulo. He obtained his PhD at the University of Uppsala (Sweden) in 1979 and his post-doctoral period at the University of Florida (USA). He was the Coordinator of Physics and Astronomy at CAPES (2011-2018) and President of the Physics Committee of the National Research Council (CNPq). Presently he is a member of the Superior Council of CAPES and has been appointed (2018) the Research Provost of the University of São Paulo. He composes the editorial board of several international journals and is co-editor of the Spectrochimica Acta A (Elsevier), acting in the field of theoretical spectroscopy and molecular simulation in physics and chemistry.


Roseli de Deus Lopes

Program Coordinator of PIBIC-EM, PIBIC e PIBITI

Electrical engineer, she is an Associate Professor at the Polytechnic University of São Paulo (USP) and develops a work of popular science to young participants in science fairs throughout Brazil. Master and PhD in Electrical Engineering from USP. In 2009, she received the Education Personality Award by the Union of Engineers of the State of São Paulo. Coordinates research projects in Interactive Electronic Media aimed at education and health. Since 2014, coordinates the undergraduate research programs at the Provost’s Office for Research.


Débora Rejane Fior Chadi

Associate Professor at the Institute of Biosciences - USP

Débora Rejane Fior Chadi graduated in Biological Sciences from the Federal University of São Paulo (1990), earned a Master’s degree (1992) and PhD (1994) in Molecular Biology by UNIFESP. Conducted doctoral internship in Karolinska Institute (1992-1994) and post-doctorate research in Clark Institute of Psychiatry in Toronto and in the Neurologial Institute of McGill University, Canada, in 1999. Currently is Associate Professor and coordinates the Laboratory of Neurotransmission and Neural Control of Blood Pressure in the Department of Physiology of the Institute of Biosciences of University of São Paulo.


Ana Paula Tavares Magalhães Tacconi

Professor PhD. at the Faculty of Philosophy, Literature and Human Sciences - USP

She holds a Bachelor of History from the University of São Paulo (1995), a Master's Degree in Social History (1998) and a PhD in Social History (2003), both of them from the University of São Paulo too. She has researches in the area of Medieval History, working mainly in the following subjects: Religion and Religiosities, Migrations in History, History of the Catholic Church, Medieval Heresies, History of Franciscanism, History and Narratives, among others. Coordinates LABORA - Laboratory of Studies and Production of Texts related to Thought and Culture in the Middle Ages; is an Advisor to ANPUH - National History Association. She is also a member of the Committee of Good Practices in Research of USP.